Blogs for The Lightless Sky 

   
    

BBC NWTonight: 10 minutes into the news; http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b06gy437/north-west-tonight-15102015
He crossed nine countries to flee war. And he was just 12 years old.

PRI’s The World

http://www.pri.org/stories/2015-10-14/he-crossed-nine-countries-flee-war-and-he-was-just12-years-old

The Refugee Council: Gulwali Passarlay was forced to flee his home in Afghanistan when he was just 12 years old. His debut book, The Lightless Sky, charts his perilous journey over land and sea to Britain, where he finally found safety. A tale of fortitude and friendship told through a child’s eyes, Gulwali’s story casts much needed light on the difficult decisions refugees are forced to take about who to trust and how to stay alive against a backdrop of political indifference.

http://www.refugeecouncil.org.uk/latest/blogs/4450_the_lightless_sky
All refugees want is to be treated as humans
Gulwali Passarlay fled Afghanistan and travelled across Europe as a refugee at the age of 12. Ahead of giving the Amnesty International lecture at this year’s Ulster Bank Belfast International Arts Festival, he spoke to Jane Hardy

http://www.irishnews.com/arts/2015/10/15/news/all-refugees-want-is-to-be-treated-as-humans-293965/
Crossing cultures; 

by Gulwali Passarlay

http://www.englishpen.org/pen-atlas/crossing-cultures/?utm_content=buffer13f2a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

 

3 thoughts on “Blogs for The Lightless Sky 

  1. Marilyn Taylor

    I have just finished reading “the Lightless Sky” – I bought it after reading Gulwali’s article in the Guardian recently. It is one of the books that has moved me the most recently. It is inspiring, exciting – a very good read, but has really opened my eyes about the predicament that migrants face. I will be recommending it to all my friends and I’m pleased to have the opportunity to write a comment here. Congratulations to both on a brilliant book. Good Luck in the future.

    Reply
  2. Albertine Ahmadi

    I wrote this 6 years ago: “For me, an Iranian, it was only when I went to Afghanistan that I realised that Afghans were my neighbours to the East; I shared with them my language and literature. Proud and cheerful, they reminded me of my fellow citizens from Sartchashmah. In their country, I found another home.”
    I was in your country before you were born. I read the book slowly, taking it in. Many places, I knew. The plight of your people in my country is sadly too familiar to me.
    Your courage in recounting your story, and the experience of Ms. Nadene Ghouri make the book a valuable reading. Tashakor!
    On my little patch of the world, I fight for democracy and freedom in Iran. It will not come easily. It is as if an ant would want to carry a menhir on its own. People like you are much needed, not only for your country but mine and others in the region. As you, very accurately put it (p. 181): ” It made me realise that life in the remote Kurdish inhabited parts of Iran or Turkey was no different to that of rural Afghanistan.”
    Be Aman-e Khoda,Best Regards, Albertine Ahmadi,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

