Top Review for ‘A Lightless Sky’

#TheLightlessSky
Thank you for such positive and helpful review 🙂

Good Reading Magazine

If you missed this book when it came out in October, after reading this review you might reconsider tracking it down in the bookshop. A Lightless Sky: An Afghan refugee boy’s journey of escape to a new life by Gulwali Passarlay and Nadene Ghouri is an emotionally and ethically challenging read that will spur you into action, writes Jennifer Somerville.

51mb3f6eKpL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

One of the most impressive parts of this heart-rending, well-written and courageous story is the map showing the progress of a 12-year-old boy from a life under threat in Afghanistan to the UK.

Author Gulwali Passarlay spent 12 months on the road, half-starved and filthy, covered over 20,000 kilometres, used six modes of transport, including walking. By 2015, aged 21, he was a student of politics at the University of Manchester, having done extremely well at school despite needing to learn English on his arrival at 13. He was granted asylum in…

View original post 432 more words

7 thoughts on “Top Review for ‘A Lightless Sky’

  1. Chloé

    Hi ! I am a french student and I am fourteen so I don’t speak very well English… Sorry for the mistakes but I just want to say that I really loved this book and that it shows me the real way of the things we see in the television. It was very interesting and I always asked me how a twelve-year-old-boy could live all that without parents or brother and sister but Gulwali did it so I admirate him a lot. Thanks for this beautiful book and I hope that they’re aren’t too much mystakes !

    Reply
  2. Lawrence Ivory

    Keep up the fight and good work, Gulwsli. Disappointed I never seem to get a mention. Good luck. Lawrence

    Reply
    1. gulwalipassarlay Post author

      Thank you sir, oh no your my inspiration. Hope you got the chance to read The Lightless Sky and I can never forget you. Hope to see you around. Best wishes 🙂 Gulwali

      Reply
      1. Chloé

        How have ou done it ? I mean, to thing about all you’ve lived to write it… I think it has been very difficult… No?

  3. Unite-and-Inspire

    Just finished reading your book and I could not put it down! As someone who left my country at 18 struggled with homesickness and missing my family so much it hurt, reading your story puts things in perspective. I forget about the pain and instead I am incredibly greatfull that after a long process I became a British Citizen and like you I want to make the most of every opportunity that comes my way. Your story is so inspirational and I really really commend you on the work you are doing now. Do you still keep in touch with your brother? I wish you all the best and look forward to seeing what the future brings for you! You are an inspiration!

    Reply
  4. Anna hopkins

    I haven’t read the book yet but what an incredible story. I’m so glad there is respected spokesperson for the refugees right now. I’m so ashamed of my country and it’s attitudes towards refugees.
    Would be handy to have a link to buy the book on here.

    Reply
  5. Laura Shutes

    I have just read an article by Gulwali in The Guardian, 22/10/16. I have been moved to tears by his struggle and his plain and simple words of truth “Why do we have this attitude of suspicion towards refugees? These young people have been through trauma and hardship. They are humans.” I have recently moved to Spain from the UK with my family. I have two boys, 13 and 11. They have found it hard but managed well, gaining much from their relationship as brothers, going through this transition together, learning the language, starting a new school, joining a football team, slowly making friends and feeling accepted. In short, they have been treated as young boys in a new land, met with kindness, humanity and understanding. We are not refugees, my family know nothing of their hardship, we do not need such an easy ride, yet we have been given just that. I think the answer to the question “why have suspicion”, must be that those who are suspicious have lost their own ability to be human. If we can’t treat all others as humans, it surely means we have lost the empathy that marks our ability to be one ourselves.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

